Lush Bath Bomb Product Review

I am a sucker for a bath. A big sucker. I’m going to pull out a Meredith agree quote:

Meredith: “I… have one opinion. And that is that I just want a tub deep enough that covers my…”

Derek: “Knees and boobs at the same time.”

Seriously. I’m short but I’m stout and I just want a tub I can sink into. So when BL and I FINALLY MOVED OUT one of the greatest draws to the new house was the extra large bath tub that had recently been installed in the house. I had been ogling over the bath bombs at Lush forever and I decided to treat myself, in light of the new tub and all:

 

I was pretty excited to see this little guy in action. At $4.95 it was by far the cheapest bath bomb in the store, so I figured it was a good starting point from me. Not to mention I was petrified it would stain my landlord’s brand new bathtub, so I stayed away from anything too pigmented or sparkly.

Lush describes this particular bomb as:

“Vanilla bath time confection with saucy undertone Inspired by the delightful Audrey Hepburn, Pink is sophisticated, sexy, elegant, and witty. Fragranced with edgy tonka bean, neroli, and the sweetness of vanilla absolute, it turns baths into candy-scented fantasies with a fragrance that lingers on your skin long after you’re out of the bath. It’s sweet, but not overbearingly so, with a subtle bite of something cheeky. Spoil yourself; instead of Breakfast at Tiffany’s, have an indulgent bath with Pink.”

According to the Lush Website, ingredients are as follows: 

Featured Ingredient:

Tonka Absolute (Dipteryx odorata)

Ingredients:

Sodium Bicarbonate , Citric Acid , Fragrance , Lavender Oil (Lavandula augustifolia) , Tonka Absolute (Dipteryx odorata) , Vanilla Absolute (Vanilla planifolia) , Neroli Oil (Citrus Aurantium amara) , *Limonene , *Linalool , *Coumarin , Pink Heart Confetti , Propylene Glycol , Red 27 , Red 33 , Red 4 , Candy Flowers (Sucrose, Corn Starch, Blue 1, Red 40, Yellow 5 and Yellow 6) .*Occurs naturally in essential oil

LushOPedia, a treasure trove of information about everything used in Lush products, explains the various uses for Tonka Absolute, the featured ingredient in the Pink Bath Bomb:

” Tonka absolute is obtained from the seeds of the fruit of the Dipteryx odorata tree. This tall tree belongs to the legume (Fabaceae) plant family. It can grow up to 120 feet tall and has black fruits. The trees can be found in Costa Rica, Brazil and Peru.

Once the fruit is ripe, the seeds are removed and soaked in alcohol. They swell up, after which they are removed and dried out. As they dry, a white frost appears on the surface. This was first identified in 1820 as coumarin.

At room temperature, the absolute is solid, brown and has a sweet, vanilla-like aroma.

Tonka absolute is a valued perfumery material and we use it in our Vanillary solid perfume.

Aromatherapists use tonka as antispasmodic and anti-inflammatory. It is also thought to treat joint problems.”

Ok, so now I’ve told you ALL about everything these little bombs contain, what do they actually do? Well, if a picture is worth 1000 words, is a video worth 100,000?  Let’s see shall we:  

 
And next step is to slide right in 

  
Ok, so the perks. Your bath is pink. Right there is enough to convince this girl to buy another one. My tubby smelled amazing and I was very nice and relaxing. I think I did it wrong because I think you’re supposed to be IN the tub when you drop the bomb. 

And for anyone wondering, thank god, my bath wasn’t stained. The only thing I can think of that I didn’t care for were the tiny hearts. They didn’t seen to dissolve in the water, but they did slip easily down the drain so I guess no real complaints. We will have to see if an emergency call to the plumber is needed to unclog the drain due to paper hearts. 

I can’t say that the bomb did anything more than perfume and color my bath, because I didn’t notice any real difference in my skin. The smell did seem to linger, and the bathroom did smell great. 

All in all, for $4.95 I would hands down buy from Lush again. 

One thought on “Lush Bath Bomb Product Review

Leave a Reply

