July 2015 Birchbox Review

july2015bbreview

I’m baaaaack, and back dating!  I’ve been sitting on these reviews for awhile.  Sometimes, it takes me awhile to try my products, mostly because I’m hoarding them.  Or because I’m hiding them from BL and then I forget where I hid them.

IMG_0259

I was so excited with this box!  With the exception of the Supergoop, these were all new products to me, which was a pleasant surprise, considering Birchbox has been pretty good at sending me doubles lately.

IMG_0236

Jam packed with a variety of products, I couldn’t wait to dive right in.  The lip gloss was very intimidating, and I wasn’t sure what to do with the oil, but I’ll get to all that:

Juliet Has a Gun: Not a Perfume:

IMG_0242

Perfume, perfume, perfume!!  I’m always pumped to get perfume, because I’m not one of those people who can settle on one fragrance.  There are apparently some people, like my mother, who wear one scent.  My mother has been wearing her’s for over 30 years.  Her stuff smells like it even after she has washed it.  This perfume is the exact opposite of her pungent Clinique Aromatics Elixir.  It is light and airy, with a distinct yet familiar scent.  It is neutral enough to wear during the day at the office, but interesting enough to wear out in the evening.  At $90.oo for a 50ml bottle on the Birchbox website, it’s too rich for my taste; however, I am saving up my points and waiting for a good coupon.

RUSK Heatshift Re-Styling Cream:

IMG_0243

This stuff is a miracle in a bottle!  I am someone who frequently goes days without washing their hair, I’m always looking for a new way to help hold style, not to mention spruce up a day old look.  Recently, one of my tricks has been to divide my hair into two pony tails and curl the ends.  Cut the rubber bands, and BOOM! instant adorable curls.  Now, add in a little of this re-styling cream, and a little of my new favorite hairspray (which you’ll learn about in another review I promise), your curls are going to last all day.  Not to mention that with a little dab of your new next day best friend, and your curls will not only stay, but they’ll be smooth and airy.  Listed on Birchbox for $18.00 for 3.4oz, this will soon be finding it’s way into my bathroom.  As soon as my sample runs out that is.

Jouer Daily Clarifying Treatment Oil:

IMG_0256

I’ll admit, even with the hot pink lip gloss included in this box, I was still the most confused by this “face oil”, but I decided to give it a try.  My skin is very combination, however I try to avoid any additional oil, as my skin can lean toward being oily.  So I gave it a quick wash, dried it, and spread a few drops along my brow and nose and cheeks, and rubbed it in.  There was a slight tingling sensation all over my face, and I was left with a light, dewy glow.  It was the perfect mositroizer to go under my CC cream.  And this tiny little bottle has lasted me forever.  Priced at $48.00, it is a little expensive, but if it lasts as long as the sample, it will be well worth it.

Supergoop! Anti-Aging City Sunscreen Serum SPF 50:

IMG_0251

I’m not someone who typically wears sunscreen, so I can’t really tell you if this worked or not.  My face didn’t get burnt on my recent trip to the beach, where I was all too excited to whip out my purse sized sunscreen, until my friend pulled out her Costco sized bottle of SPF 70 and began to slather herself in it.  So I applied the Supergoop! to my face, and the SPF 70 over the rest of my body, because she came to the beach 3 times a week, and I hadn’t been since last year and had no base tan.  I didn’t get sunburned, and the sunscreen didn’t run in my eyes, so all in all, a win.  Would I spend $18.00 on a full sized one?  No way.  Not when I can get double that anywhere else.

and last but not least…

stila look at me liquid lipstick trio: 

IMG_0252

My initial thoughts on this sample was, holy shit that is a lot of pink.  Very very pink.  And so I tried it on.  And to my astonishment, it didn’t rub off on anything!  But it was really fucking pink.  Like, Pink’s hair pink.  So while this lip gloss, lipstick hybrid has amazing non rub power, I’m not sure I will ever be brave enough to wear it anywhere.  Maybe on Halloween.

I’ll end this review by giving you a treat.  I worked myself up to taking a selfie in the really pink stuff.  For your viewing pleasure:

lipgloss

P.S.- one of the reasons I don’t wear lip gloss or lipstick or anything really other than a tinted lip balm is because I cannot properly apply it.

Leave a Reply

