Chocolate Chickpea Cake

So I’ve been a chocolate freak for as long as I can remember.  In fact, I’m sure that if I ate as much chocolate as I wanted, I would be double my weight.  So while stumbling around Pinterest, I found a gluten free chocolate cake recipe that I just HAD to try.  So I present to you, my version of Chocolate Chickpea Cake.  This recipe is basically sugar free as well, since I used Stevia instead of sugar.  I didn’t substitute anything for the powdered sugar on top, however it was just a dusting, so I have put this in the category of “healthy eats”.  Yes, yes, it has chocolate chips, but we ALL need some chocolate from time to time.  So, here we go!IMG_5040

What you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 10-18 packets of Stevia.  I used 10, because I didn’t want the cake to be too sweet.  Next time I’ll probably use 12-14, just to see.
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

To begin, preheat your oven to 350.

Step 1: Start by melting down your chips in a double boiler if you have one.  If you don’t have one (I don’t) two small pots, one slightly larger than the other, will do.  Add 1-2 inches to the larger of the 2 pots, and bring it to a slow, rolling boil.  Add the 1 1/2 cup of chips to the smaller of the 2 pots, and allow the chips to melt, stirring every so often, until the mixture is smooth.

IMG_5028

Step Two(ish)- While you’re waiting, for your water to boil, add your chickpeas and eggs to a large blender.  Add your sugar/Stevia as well, and blend together.

IMG_5029IMG_5030

Step Three:  By this time, the chocolate should be melted.  Spoon the mixture together, making sure to add your baking powder and vanilla to the mix.  Blend again!

IMG_5032

Step Three and a Half:  I had leftover chocolate chips, so I threw those in the mix too!

IMG_5034

Step Four:  Grease a 9 inch round baking pan.  I forgot to tell you to set your oven to 350.  You should go back in time and do that.  I’ll go back now and add it to the beginning.  Ok done.  Pour the mixture into the round baking pan, tapping the edges until evenly distributed through the pan.

IMG_5035IMG_5036

Step Five:  Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.  I added a second round pan with water to the bottom racks, in hopes that it would help prevent my cake from cracking.

IMG_5037

Step Six:  Remove the cake from the oven, running a butter knife along the edges to help pop it out later.  FYI, I just leave mine in the pan, because it ALWAYS cracks.  Dust with powdered sugar when cooled.  Slice, and serve!

IMG_5039

As a side note, my cake still cracked.  I’m working on figuring out how to prevent that.  Until then, happy snacking!

 IMG_5041

Steps Without The Pictures

Step 1: Start by melting down your chips in a double boiler if you have one.  If you don’t have one (I don’t) two small pots, one slightly larger than the other, will do.  Add 1-2 inches to the larger of the 2 pots, and bring it to a slow, rolling boil.  Add the 1 1/2 cup of chips to the smaller of the 2 pots, and allow the chips to melt, stirring every so often, until the mixture is smooth.

Step Two(ish)- While you’re waiting, for your water to boil, add your chickpeas and eggs to a large blender.  Add your sugar/Stevia as well, and blend together.

Step Three:  By this time, the chocolate should be melted.  Spoon the mixture together, making sure to add your baking powder and vanilla to the mix.  Blend again!

Step Three and a Half:  I had leftover chocolate chips, so I threw those in the mix too!

Step Four:  Grease a 9 inch round baking pan.  I forgot to tell you to set your oven to 350.  You should go back in time and do that.  I’ll go back now and add it to the beginning.  Ok done.  Pour the mixture into the round baking pan, tapping the edges until evenly distributed through the pan.

Step Five:  Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.  I added a second round pan with water to the bottom racks, in hopes that it would help prevent my cake from cracking.

Step Six:  Remove the cake from the oven, running a butter knife along the edges to help pop it out later.  FYI, I just leave mine in the pan, because it ALWAYS cracks.  Dust with powdered sugar when cooled.  Slice, and serve!

As a side note, my cake still cracked.  I’m working on figuring out how to prevent that.  Until then, happy snacking!

Leave a Reply

