January 2015 Birch Box Review

So I am very very late with my reviews.  In fact, I’m like 6 months late.  So unfortunately I have very little original content for some of these products, and many of these posts will be back dated.  But this blog is as much for me as it is for anyone else, and I use it to help me remember which products I love, and those that I would like to forget.  So that being said, I present to you my January 2015 Birch Box Review.

janbbrevSo my menagerie of products for the new year was all in all pretty good.

I’ll start off with the Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45 Shade #1.

FullSizeRender

I have received far to many bad BB creams, and this was one of them.  I wasn’t impressed by the shade to start with.  It was very light for my skin tone, and it didn’t color correct like I thought that it might.  I instead, had to layer on some bronzer to get the color closer to what my natural shade was.  I also found it goopy, and kind of thick.  I managed to get 2 uses out of it, and truth be told, I think it ended up in the pile of “doesn’t work” that I keep on hand, just in case a girlfriend is over and needs to use something.

The Essential Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Lotion is up next

FullSizeRender_1

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this lotion.  Unfortunately, BL and I were both scraping the bottom of the barrel for the last of this lotion.  It smells, in short, amazing.  It goes on smooth with a strong scent that lasts forever.  That strong scent morphed into a subtle, herb scented hints that paired well with my perfumes, which tend to err on the side of clean and fresh.  Whenever I try to buy this lotion, it is out of stock.  As an overall body lotion, this is phenomenal.

Harvey Prince Hello Liquid Loofah:

FullSizeRender_2

I’ll start of by saying that I am not a fan of Harvey Prince Hello in general.  So this “liquid loofah” was a stretch for me.  I didn’t mind the smell, but to be honest it wasn’t anything more that you would get in a hotel.  There was minimal exfoliating going on, and like I said, I’m not a fan of the scent, which was fleeting and didn’t seem to last long.  Maybe paired with the lotion or the perfume, I would have noticed it.  Not to mention, I got about 1 1/2 uses out of the small bottle.  I think it’s safe to say that this product is not for me.

Manna Kadar Lip Locked

FullSizeRender_3

Now, for starters, I probably won’t end up purchasing this lip gloss.  I think $24 is CRAZY for a lip gloss, but that seems to be standard fare.  So I guess I’ll just have to settle for my sample.  The color is AWESOME and stays on for awhile and doesn’t rub off.  My hair doesn’t get stuck in it, and it doesn’t flake off.  I like to use a deep lip stain and then apply a swipe.  I keep it in my purse and it is my standard “throw on quick when I need something cute”.  Maybe one day I’ll put my points towards it.

Curl Keeper: by Curly Hair Solutions:

I’ll start off by saying that I don’t have curly hair.  I have puffy hair.  Very puffy hair.  It looks a little something like this when I wake up and don’t straighten it:

FullSizeRender (9)

So I figured out a way to put the Curl Keeper to good use by adding it to my wet hair, and then either braiding it or putting it up into a bun and sleeping on it.  Somehow this magic solution can transform and turn my bushes into waves.

I was pretty happy with the box in general this month.  Hopefully this is a sign of a good year full of Birch Boxes!

**please note that all product images came from the Birch Box App and Website**

Leave a Reply

