December 2014 BIRCHBOX Review

Let me preface this post by letting you know EXCITED I was for this box to get here.  I happened to misplace by debit card (which happens often) and forgot to update my account.  So not only was my Birch SUPER late, but I missed my Ipsy bag!

Now that I got that small disclaimer out of the way, let me tell you how much I loved this box.  I liked everything I tried, and the lip stain REALLY pushed my make-up comfort boundaries.  So as Mario would say… Here we go!

IMG_4409

This month my box came jam packed with:

  • Camille Beckman Body Butter
  • BORGHESE Splendore Brightening Makeup
  • Beauty Protector Protect & Oil
  • Mirenesse Mattifinity Lip Rouge
  • Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Firming Tea Treatment Mask

Camille Beckman Body Butter

FullSizeRender

I got this body butter, and I wasn’t over the moon.  The scent was Midnight Monarch. I’m pretty picky about what I use for a body butter/lotion (my all time favorite being Sweet Violet from Cobble Hill Farms) and this seems average to me.  I enjoy the smell, but the scent doesn’t seem to linger, and I find that it leaves almost a film sort of residue on my skin.  Overall, I’m not unhappy that I got it, it just isn’t something I would purchase.  So it will join the bag of lotions that I keep in my large purse for dry hand emergencies, especially since the sample was tiny.

BORGHESE Splendore Brightening Makeup

FullSizeRender_1IMG_4408

That’s me and SamDog and I’m wearing my BORGHESE Splendore Brightening Makeup but you can’t tell since I Instagramfiltered the shit out of that picture.  But seriously, I’m LOVING this makeup, but I’m almost certain I’m not using it according to the directions.  I tried blending it with my BB Cream, but I ended up looking like I was doused with pixie dust.  Like, serious glitter bomb smacked me in the face.  So now I use it as a highlighter, on the top of  my cheeks, my nose and the upper portion of my brow and it works like a dream.  Not to mention the sample was Billy Fucillo huge, and I’m sure it will last me forever.  In fact, the chances of my either losing it or moving on to something new are greater than the chance of it running out.  I’m a fan, and if I run out, I would strongly consider buying it.

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil

FullSizeRender_2

This brand has been one of my favorites since getting the spray protector awhile back.  My hair is prone to dryness and overall nastyness down towards the ends.  My sister got this last month and I was super jealous, so when I got it this month I couldn’t wait to try it.  I only needed a small bit, rubbed in my palms and then spread through my hair to see and feel a difference.  I avoided the scalp area, massaging well into my super dry and frayed ends.  I love the smell and I really enjoy what it did for my hair.  It wasn’t oily or weighed down like some oils have left it.  I will more than likely be purchasing this along with the spray protector.  I small amount also worked well to tame some flyaways when I put my hair up.  If you have very oily or greasy hair, err on the side of small amounts with this product.

Mirenesse Mattifinity Lip Rouge

FullSizeRender_3IMG_4410

Oh Hello There Gorgeous!  The Mattfinity Lip Rouge was a very bold beauty choice for me.  I generally tend to stay towards nude/bare lips, not just because I’m a smoker or one of those people annoying people who ALWAYS has a water bottle, but also because it just seems loud.  People with brightly colored red lips are generally loud.  Or hookers.  Or both.  Or maybe just Taylor Swift.  I’m none of those things.  Maybe a little loud.  But my fashion style isn’t, and I wore this out with some caution.  I was shocked at how well it stayed on.  No mess stuck to the side of my face from a stray hair, or caked to my teeth or all over my fingers.  And the color last awhile!  I would recommend exfoliating your lips prior to applying, as it seemed to highlight every bit of dried skin on my lips.  I don’t think I would buy the Seoul color sample, but Rome looks nice and light, so maybe I’ll give it a try.

and last but not least

Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Firming Tea Treatment Mask

FullSizeRender (6)IMG_4423

Point 1 of 2 I should make.  The back says to apply and pour yourself a cup of tea, wait 8 minutes and rinse.  I was having a bad day so I poured wine and I’m pretty sure I accomplished the same results.  Point 2: this face mask costs $58 a tube.  I’m sure that is a little crazy.  I’m sorry but $58 is A LOT of money for a mediocre face mask that tingled a little when I put it on, and left my face nice and smooth.  I really liked this mask and would love to keep using it, but it doesn’t accomplish anything that can’t be done with a sugar scrub.  For the price, Birchbox can keep it.

Overall, I was really happy with this box.  I was able to try some products that I wouldn’t purchase due to style and price, and I’m really pumped about that.

Can’t wait to see what’s in store for me next month!

Leave a Reply

