Furf’s Speedy Chicken

This is one of BL’s favorite dinners, and I made it tonight, so I figured I would post it.  I must admit that it is one of my LEAST favorite things to make because it involves 3 pans and a lot of dishes. But it’s one of his favorites so I usually give in.

I should mention that I’m not so great with measuring.  Especially here where I like to play with flavors.  This is one of those recipes that you can really make your own.  So let’s dig in.

20141211_194006

What you’ll need:

  • 1 Large Onion
  • Chicken, cubed
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Fresh Spinach, chopped
  • Olive Oil
  • Brown Sugar
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Spices
  • Wraps

How to do it:

Let’s get the chicken marinading.  You can use any kind of chicken you want.  I prefer boneless skinless chicken breasts.  I use two of the thin sliced kind since they cook quicker.  Put chopped chicken into glass bowl and toss with olive oil.  Add salt and pepper.  Add garlic and onion powder.  I also use Red Steak Seasoning from my local grocery store.  Toss until well coated.  Add apple cider vinegar until all chicken is covered.  Set aside.

Now let’s get your onions started.  Chop them up and add them to a small pot.  Drizzle with olive oil and add brown sugar and toss until they’re all coated.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently.

As for cooking the chicken.  I am IN LOVE with the griddle.  It works for everything, plus I don’t count it as a dish to wash!  So pour your chicken along with all the good stuff onto the cooking surface.  I would suggest using a large pan with good width if you aren’t using a griddle.  If you ARE, I like to tent the chicken with a piece of tin foil.  It helps keep all the flavors in and cooks it evenly.  Here’s what mine looks like

FullSizeRender

While your chicken is cooking, make sure you stir your onions.  Now wash and chop your spinach and grate your cheese.  As far as cheddar goes, the stinker the better when it comes to the wraps.  I usually get an extra sharp Vermont Cheddar.

When your chicken is done and cooked to your liking, set it aside and scrap the bottom of the griddle/pan until it is clear of remaining spices and allow it to cool slightly.

Lay out your wraps and add cheese, onions, spinach and chicken.  The large burrito wraps usually work best as I have a tendency to over-stuff.  Roll ’em up and toss them back on the griddle to make sure the cheese is melted and the spinach is cooked.  If you have a press go ahead and thrown it on top.  Cook until the outside is nice and brown.

And as BL says, “So good, you don’t even need condiments!”.

I would love to hear any variations on this!  Like I said, this recipe is a great jumping off point for experimenting.

Leave a Reply

