Birch Box November 2014 BUZZFEED BOX Review

Please note all images used are stock images from the Birchbox app.

There are a few things in this world that give me happiness in a raw and simple form.  A new book.  A blank journal.  A warm blanket out of the dryer.  Snail Mail.  And free samples.  Therefore, this new box of samples craze is JUST FOR ME!  So please enjoy my review my November Women’s Birchbox!  (*Of note, once a month Birchbox offers you the choice of a sample.  Sometimes you get to upgrade your box, so I did that with the BuzzFeed Box.)

Let me start off by saying that I loved ALMOST everything in this box.  So lets get started, shall we.

Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips:

IMG_42861

 

I must start by saying that BL and I open our Birchbox’s at the kitchen table and read out loud what we got while showing it off like a kid at Christmas.  So when I read this one out loud, we both giggled.  However, I came back from a weekend outside 10+ hours in the cold and my lips were so sore and chapped that they hurt.  I couldn’t find a regular chapstick, but I remembered by nipple balm!  I spread it over my lips, and in an instant, I could feel my lips returning to normal.  I am now obsessed, and I will be ordering this soon.  I also love that a little goes a long way.  I like to wear it overnight as a lip mask after exfoliating.

Greenlead Candle

IMG_42891

 

For such a little candle, this sure packed a big punch!  I love that it came in a small glass, as I was expecting a votive.  The Splendid Spruce was a very nice compliment to my other holiday scents.  It did burn quite quickly.  I’m not sure that I would purchase this at $17 because I’ve found some pretty nice soy candles for far less, however it was a nice addition to my box.

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

IMG_42871

 

I’m horrified that this is out of stock right now, because it has become one of my new favorite products.  I’m well known for hating to have to wash my hair any more than I have to.  It takes forever to dry and I always find it looks better slightly dirty.  The Perk Up smells amazing, and does a great job of cleaning up my roots so that I can go as long as possible between washings while still looking and smelling great.  The compact size makes it a perfect fit for my purse.

Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24 Hour Mascara

IMG_42901

 

I must admit that part of my reason for selecting the pre-picked box was for this mascara.  My sister recieved it in her box and couldn’t stop raving about it.  And now I understand why.  It lengthens and curls my lashes perfectly.  And it will stay on for 24hours, no joke.  I’m one of those girls famous for cleaning up last night’s make up after I roll out of bed, and let me tell you, this mascara sticks.  If it has a downfall, it’s that when it starts to flake, it flakes.  Everywhere.  I like to use it underneath my Smashbox mascara.

Dr. Jart+ Pore Minimalist Mask

IMG_42911

 

I don’t have a lot of great things to say about this mask.  It left my skin feeling nice, but it was weird.  It looks weird on, and it feels weird.  I’m someone who is big on textures, and this mask simply felt slimy.  And it kept sliding off my face.  I ended up having to lay down on the couch for the duration it was on my face to avoid it falling to the floor.  And it’s kind of scary.  All in all, not one of my favorite products.

Hope you enjoyed, and if you would like to skip the waiting list for BirchBox, you can sign up here.

3 thoughts on “Birch Box November 2014 BUZZFEED BOX Review

Leave a Reply

